The Pure Genius of Aimee Mann’s “Can’t You Tell”

When I first heard Aimee Mann discuss this song with Jacob Weissberg on Slate’s “Trumpcast” I found it charmingly insightful. But her hypothesis on Trump’s inner narrative rings even truer in light of yesterday’s AHCA defeat…particularly the last verse:

You ask about my plan, but baby my plan is to win
To wind up all the tops and watch the others keep the spin
You handing me grenades is just compelling me to pull the pin

Isn’t anybody going to stop me now?
I don’t want this jobI can’t do this job
My god, can’t you tell?
I’m unwell…

Leave a Reply

